Why did I become a hairstylist?

Some times I ask myself  “Why did I become a hairstylist? Really a damn hairstylist??!”

My own mother laughed.  (And she should know she was a hairdresser for a brief time.) She said “You know you’ll have to be nice to people.” *sigh* She was right in that isn’t my strong suit. The truth is I don’t have to be nice, it just takes longer to build a clientele.

I was in my mid twenties, a bartender, I made good money and I hated it. I hate drunks, they are just so stupid. What is the fun in that? You harass, harangue, insult them and they don’t even know it. They think your being funny, and I was, just not in the way they thought. It is a dark profession, you really see the worst in people. It was a  good bad  job for me, I tend to be very dark anyways and the job just fed that side of my personality.

I had already been to cooking school and knew I didn’t want to do that. I had cooked, waitresses, managed and even been a barista (me and mornings do not get along). I started bar tending two months after I turned twenty one. And now I wanted out. I didn’t have a clue what I wanted to do. So I thought “I’ll become a hair stylist!” Hell it took less than a year and you got tips and I really liked tips. I figured I could do hair while I decide what I wanted to do. The hours were flexible so I could go back to school when I figured out what I was going to do for a career. I got tips. I could travel with this skill. It seemed perfect. It made no sense.

Really, even I have to wonder what I was thinking. I had never cut a head of hair before I went to beauty school or even had any desire to. I was a tomboy. I didn’t care about makeup or fashion, actually thought it was kinda silly. I am extremely blunt. I have a very dry, read sarcastic, sense of humor. I’m not a natural people person. I have a lot of introverted qualities. I say what ever comes into my mind, I’ve been told by my friends that I have no internal editor.  By the way I do have an internal editor; I’ve just turned it off.  Basically I am not the kind of person anyone would think should become a hair stylist.

Here I am twenty some years later still doing it. And most of the time I love it.

I’ve mellowed some too. Or at least I’ve learned to say things a little bit softer. “You want to do WHAT with your hair? In your dreams! Are you delusional?! NOT going to happen in this reality. No. What part of no didn’t you get?” All things I have said. The no part ~ a lot.

I have had two physical scares that I thought would take me out of this business. The second time I even went back to college to learn accounting. Accounting?? Where do I come up with this shit? But I’m still doing hair. After the second time I thought I would have to quit the business I realized how much I loved doing it.

So maybe I’m not your typical hairdresser, but who wants to be typical?

4 thoughts on “Why did I become a hairstylist?

    • Thanks, I’m trying to find my voice. It will be a fine line since I live in a small town and don’t intend to be anonymous. I have never hidden my opinions and don’t plan to start now. So if this blog suddenly shuts down you’ll know the sh*t hit the fan.

  1. Okay, so maybe you’re not a “typical” stylist. Hell, you’re not a typical anything.
    IMHO, that’s precisely what makes you so special. And maybe, just maybe . . . that’s something your clients find to be special, too.

Got something to say? Well let's hear it!

