This is what I do for fun in the summer.

Where I go hiking

What I do for fun!

This is what I do for fun in the summer. I go hiking. This is a short, fast, up hike. It is just under two miles and climbs about 2000 feet.

I love going up but right now most of the hikes are lowland and river hikes because the snow level is still too low to do the alpine hikes. Yeah there are people who love to hike in the snow, but I’m not one of them. I’m pretty sure I’d end up hurt or dead. As my hiking partner likes to say I have trouble walking some days.  I don’t hike alone because I don’t want to be one of those stories on the news that we see a lot around here. Stupid hiker missing/lost in the woods. 

So this is one of those tune up hikes to get the legs in shape. Test myself (and my partner’s patience). We hike well together, but by that I mean there are days when we don’t talk much to each other.

Looking down at Lake Crescent

Looking down at one side of Lake Crescent from the top.

Looking towards Canada

The other side of the lake with Canada in the background.

I love going up but I admit I’m not so fond of coming down. I hate heights, I get vertigo. It is all good as long as I don’t get too close to the edge or look down.

Storm King looking down

That is the parking lot down there. I was doing great until I looked down at that.

Storm King turn around

End of the trail for me.

Time for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and then back down. This was an amazing little hike. Starts out as a butt kicking switchbacks, transitions into a more open level area before climbing again behind the scarp and rewards you with amazing views of the lake at the top. We saw more wild orchids in one section then I’ve ever seen. Of course I didn’t take any pictures of those!

One thought on “This is what I do for fun in the summer.

Got something to say? Well let's hear it!

