Feels like fall

I don’t care what the temperature is, if feels like fall.

It does have that feel in the air. It may be warm during the day but as soon as the sun goes down, and it is going down earlier and earlier, the temperature drops. You can feel the cool marine air. The wind has a bit of a bite to it.

I love fall but it sure seems to be coming quick this year. That being said I am not a big fan of the really short days of winter. I looked it up and the sun will set at 4:18 on December 14th. Uhg. I’m already dreading it. Yeah I am one of those people who picks at scabs too.

But the up side of all this is fall! Hot cocoa, wind storms, heating the house with the wood stove, split pea soup, warm jackets, curling up reading without feeling guilty that I should be outside doing something. I sleep better too. I keep my bedroom cold and I love cuddling up in flannel sheets under my down comforter. Oh and the damn lawn shouldn’t need to be mowed!

I love the changing seasons best, spring and fall. I don’t know but the light is so soft and beautiful at those times of year. The temperatures are perfect and I like watching all the changes that happen. But when spring comes I’ll be ready.

7 thoughts on “Feels like fall

  1. Those are my favorite seasons too. I love this time of year especially, when it gets even cooler and the air is really crisp and just chilly enough to need a sweater. But yeah, I could live without it being completely dark at 4:30. Meh.

  2. There is such a wonderful “energy” in the air during the fall. I love it just as much as I love the summer….

    Although, I could completely do without having to wear heavy coats and darkness at 4 in the afternoon….

  3. I actually like when it’s dark. It’s been cloudy the past few days, and I’ve enjoyed it. Although I guess if it were cloudy forever, I wouldn’t be so happy.

    I don’t think the sun ever sets at 4-something here, though. Our sunsets for the next few days are circa 7:30. If the sun set at 4, I probably wouldn’t be a huge fan.

    Fall and winter are my favorite seasons because I love winterwear–coats, long-sleeved shirts, sweaters, etc. I like feeling snug inside when it’s cold outside. In winter, I’m always amazed by snow–I feel like I should always take pictures of it, lol. But that’s because I grew up in a place with no snow. I’m glad I don’t live somewhere where there’s too much snow, though, because I always get nervous driving in it since I know nothing about that sort of thing.

    • Well the 4 o’clock sunset won’t come until close to the winter equinox but I’m already thinking about it because I have noticed how fast the days seem to be getting shorter.
      It doesn’t help that it is grey a lot in the winter, but at least we don’t get much snow. No one here can drive in it and it is a big deal. I think the snow storm we got two years ago, it stuck around which is unusual, got named Snowmageddon.

  4. I love fall. I’m ready for the coolness after all the 98 to 100+ days. I have a woodstove – it is one of the simple things that I love, too!

Got something to say? Well let's hear it!

