On a tangent

I was thinking about something, occasionally I do do that, and it occurred to me that sow stands for stupid old woman.

Now I feel like such a sow. How did I not know this? All these years when someone called a woman a sow I thought they were referring to a female pig. What else have I been missing?

Does cow mean crazy old woman? So does that make me a scow? According to Merriam-Webster it means a large flat-bottomed boat with broad square ends used chiefly for transporting bulk material (as ore, sand, or refuse). I think I’d rather be a stupid, crazy old woman. And also according to M-W more people have been looking this word up in the last week, maybe I’m not the only one that didn’t know these things. And what the hell were those people thinking about that made them look this word up?

This is how my brain entertains itself when it should be concentrating on algebra  homework.

6 thoughts on “On a tangent

  1. I understand your need to distract yourself from algebra. I’d never realised about Silly Old Woman until you pointed it out.

    If you come up with something that NUN could be an anacronym for, then I’ll be scared. Impressed, but also scared!

Got something to say? Well let's hear it!

