Life is messy and so are quadratic equations

Or why I hate math.

 x=(-b+/-sqrt(b^2-4ac))/(2a).

This is why I’m not here. It is called the quadratic formula, and I have to know how to do it. In “real life” according to my instructor. What that means is not easy problems that come out with nice whole numbers but messy shit that sucks.

I told him I thought this was bs. I am forty-six; I have never needed to know this, and I think my life has been pretty damn real. What, some crazed mass murderer is going to run into the restaurant where I have lunch, waving a gun and yell “Everyone dies! Except those of you that can graph this quadratic equation.” If that happens I’ll just ask him to shoot me first.

Anyways just about the time I think I get it, something goes sideways. *sigh* I just don’t have a math brain. I am really trying to get this shit but really? Isn’t this what we have calculators and computers for. Yes, I love it when my instructor is showing us a problem and it doesn’t work out as planned so he grabs his graphing calculator to figure out what went wrong. I’m like ~Dude if you can’t do this without a graphing calculator how come I’m supposed to be able to? And you’re the instructor!

14 thoughts on “Life is messy and so are quadratic equations

    • Yep, just shoot me. My instructor likes “real world” equations, one that are messy and full of fractions. Or ones that are inconsistent, ie ones that don’t work. Great, I just spent how long doing and redoing this because I though it was me?

  1. I want to say something encouraging to you, but I just keep thinking, “Damn! I hated this class!” I’ve never once used this in real life and I would get so lost trying to remember the formulas on test day.
    If that happens I’ll just ask him to shoot me first. ~ Too funny.
    Just keep rollin’ with it, you can do it!

    • Yup, and if I remember the formula, I can still screw it up by making some arithmetic mistake.
      Instructor teaches us 3 or 4 ways to do something, which would be fine if I could pick the way that makes the most sense to me. but nooooo. On the test he will ask for a particular way for each question. As if I don’t have a hard enough time not getting them confused!

Got something to say? Well let's hear it!

